Code journal 7/20/14 — Apache Cassandra and Node.js

by admcee

>Following instructions here on getting Cassandra set up with Node. Some configuring to do. Also using this as a reference to where Cassandra files are on my Mac. Very useful.

>NOTE: Cassandra’s cqlsh shell seems to not play nicely with tmux. Holding off on investigating this for now. Actually, running sudo easy_install took care of that – great!

>Based on some internet research I am going with cassandra-cql as my node package for working with Cassandra. One, because I found a tutorial with it, two, because it doesn’t mess with Thrift (some Apache API thing for making it easier to use a variety of languages working w/Cassandra, I didn’t look at it that much once I saw it’s been superseded by cql), and three, because while there hasn’t been a lot of activity on the cassandra-cql github site recently it looks well-documented and the author works for Datastax.

>An excellent breakdown of Cassandra’s architecture and storage process